Charity Commission welcomes new Commissioners

The Charity Commission for Northern Ireland has welcomed two new Commissioners and the appointment of a new Deputy Chief to their Board of Commissioners.

Social Development Minister, Nelson McCausland, has announced the appointment of Walter Rader, previously a Commissioner on the Board, to the position of Deputy Chief Commissioner for a five year term.

Mr McCausland also announced that Brenda Maitland and Geraldine Donaghy (pictured below) have been appointed as Commissioners for three year terms. All three appointments came into effect on Tuesday 7 May 2013.

New Commissioners, Brenda Maitland and Geraldine Donaghy

Tom McGrath, the charity regulator’s Chief Commissioner, commented: "Both Geraldine and Brenda will bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to their new role as Commissioners and I am delighted to welcome them on board.

"I would also like to congratulate Walter on his appointment as Deputy Chief Commissioner.

"I have worked with Walter for a number of years on the Board and I look forward to continuing our close working relationship as the Commission begins its biggest task to date, compulsory registration of all charities operating in Northern Ireland, later this year."

Frances McCandless, Chief Executive of the Commission, added her congratulations and welcome to the three new appointments, which will bring the Board up to its full complement of seven Commissioners.

She said: "Geraldine, Brenda and Walter will bring a wide range of experience, skills and new insight to our Board and we look forward to working with them on the important task of registering and regulating Northern Ireland’s charities."


For more information please contact Shirley Kernan, Charity Commission for Northern Ireland Communications Officer, on tel: 028 3832 0169, mobile: 07827338978 or email:

© Crown Copyright

© 2010 Crown Copyright          Copyright Notice, Disclaimer and Privacy Statement